

Minutes of last Executive Advisory Board meeting

Executive Advisory Board

Thursday, 20 July 2023

Online via Teams

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

Item Decisions and actions

1 Welcome, Apologies and Declarations of Interest

The Chair welcomed members and officers to the meeting, in particular those members who were attending their first meeting as Deputy Chairs: Councillors Bev Craig, Morris Bright, Abi Brown, David Fothergill and Caroline Jackson.

The chair also paid thanks to former members of the executive advisory Board who had resigned at the end of their term at General Assembly, Cllrs Robert Alden, Anntoinette Bramble, Hannah Dalton, Tudor Evans, John Fuller, Teresa O'Neill and especially former Chairman Cllr James Jamieson.

Apologies for absence were received from councillors Sam Chapman Allen, Graeme Miller, Izzi Seccombe, Linda Taylor and Mayor Marvin Rees.

There were no declarations of interest.

2 Minutes of the previous meeting

Decision

The Executive Advisory Board **agreed** the minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 8 June 2023.

3 Lobbying Document

Mark Lloyd, Chief Executive, introduced the report before bringing in Sally Burlington, Director of Policy (People), who gave an update on asylum and resettlement issues. Louise Smith, Senior Adviser, also gave an update on Corporate Parenting.



During discussion, Members raised the following points:

- Children with lived experience of Care should be consulted in the LGA's work in this area.
- Concern was raised about continuing cost pressures for councils and local government as a sector.
- Concern was raised at the looming deadline to move asylum seekers out of hotel accommodation and the risk of homelessness the posed.
- A single point of contact in Government was needed to liaise on all asylum and resettlement matters.

Decision

The Executive Advisory Board agreed to note the report.

Action

Officers to develop a Local Government white paper and bring draft to the Executive Advisory Board meeting due to be held on Thursday 7 September 2023.

4 LGA Boards: Annual Review of the Year

Following the Chairs' reports, the Chair thanked staff for their work on the Boards as well as all members who had contributed to the work of the LGA.

The Chair also highlighted the cross-board working at the LGA, and the Executive Advisory Board's role in bringing this work together noting that one, cross-party voice is most compelling.

Decision

The Executive Advisory Board agreed to note the Annual Reports for the 2022/23 meeting cycle.

5 Local government workforce capacity update

Heather Wills, Principal Adviser, introduced the report which included a high-level summary of service areas most affected by workforce capacity issues and a plan to address recruitment and retention challenges. Highlighting the need to prioritise, Heather commented that the biggest concerns were planning and children's social work. Whilst the Resources Board had supported the prioritisation outlined in the report and emphasised the importance of preventative work, Heather sought further considerations from the Executive Advisory Board.



In the discussion that followed member raised the following points

- retention was a major factor; more could be learned from those leaving the profession.
- worth investigating why those in further education do not chose to pursue a career in local government?
- Has remote working affected career satisfaction in the sector. Is professional development taking place remotely?
- Negative media coverage and public perception of public sector workers could be a contributing factor.
- Officer development programmes such as the Local Government Challenge had produced excellent alumni who could be called upon to showcase.

Decision

The Executive Advisory Board **agreed** to note the report.

Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chair Senior Vice- Chairman	Cllr Shaun Davies Cllr Kevin Bentley	Telford and Wrekin Council Essex County Council
Vice-Chair Vice-Chair Vice-Chair	Cllr Nesil Caliskan Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	Enfield Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council
Deputy-chairman Deputy Chair Deputy Chair	Cllr Abi Brown Cllr Bridget Smith Cllr Caroline Jackson	Stoke-on-Trent City Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Lancaster City Council
Members	Cllr Peter Marland Cllr Louise Gittins Cllr David Fothergill Cllr Morris Bright MBE Cllr Matthew Hicks Cllr Shabir Pandor Cllr Tim Oliver	Milton Keynes Council Cheshire West and Chester Council Somerset Council Hertsmere Borough Council East of England LGA Yorkshire and Humber Region County Councils Network
Apologies	Cllr Bev Craig Cllr Georgia Gould Cllr Michael Payne Mayor Marvin Rees Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE Cllr Linda Taylor Cllr Gerald Vernon- Jackson CBE Cllr Robert Stewart Cllr Marc Bayliss Cllr John Hart Cllr Graeme Miller	Manchester City Council Camden Council Gedling Borough Council Bristol City Warwickshire County Council Cornwall Council Portsmouth City Council WLGA West Midlands South West Councils North East of England



Cllr Christopher Poulter

Cllr David Baines Sir Stephen Houghton

CBE

Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen

East Midlands Councils

North West Regional Leaders' Board

SIGOMA

District Councils Network

In Attendance

LGA Officers

Abigail Gallop
Alex Saul
Andrea Gillian
Angela Page
Claire Holloway
Dennis Skinner
Eamon Lally
Georgina
Brightwell
Greg Burns
Heather Wills
Ian Hughes
Iredia Oboh
Lizzie Nugent

Ray

Martin Ford
Mike Heiser
Naomi Cooke
Nicky Old
Nicola Morton
Sally Burlington
Sarah Pickup

Louise Smith Mark Lloyd Mark McKenzi-